Beginning With Django, a Python Web Framework

So I’m not completely new to programming and scripting; I took a C++ course in university and some other introductory programming courses as well as a hardware course that focused on Assembly language.

I’ve coded several simple PHP scripts, performed basic MySQL queries, and I’ve modified code to suit my purposes in the past, but I’ve always hesitated to dig deeper into web development for 2 reasons. Ok, 3 reasons.

  1. Motivation: I’ve never had website functionality goals that spoke to me enough to push me past my next two reasons.
  2. Confusion: I’ve never been satisfied with just making code work. Unless I know I doing something the right way (within reasonable limits), I feel like I’m creating and reinforcing bad habits. That makes me feel like a goof and saps my motivation.
  3. Intimidation: There’s no question about it in my mind. Programming can seem hard. Fear causes stress, and personally, I find it almost impossible to absorb information when I’m stressed. Solution? Take it one step at a time and don’t expect too much out of yourself. Enjoy the process.

So there you have it. I’m moving past these reasons, excuses, no, reasons, and I’m moving forward. Why? The fascination of building websites with functionalities tailored to my specific goals is now too great to overlook.

My most recent motivation to enter the world of development is my discovery of the semantic Web. The ability to query large, semantically rich datasets using new languages such as SPARQL offers new opportunities for building unique information architectures with relative ease and freedom.

Django seems to be a good place to start.

Leave a Reply

